An 18 year old High School Dropout….

…beat me at scrabble… multiple times, without fail.

Sunday’s I spend at my mother’s house in the country. We watch football/racing/insert other random sport here, play basketball, drink Budweisers by the keg and eat chicken which my mother is able to make 29 different ways. What can I say, we are simple people.

Both of my brothers live with my mom. Z is the 18 year old high school dropout and R is a 28 year old version of William A. Rose, better known as Axl Rose-lead singer of Guns – N – Roses [the 80’s version, not the 2000 version].

The boys and I have developed a new tradition since I graduated from college and moved back near home where we play games  constantly, always in  competition with each other. R and Z are very proud of their sister the college graduate, but they take every chance they can to argue with me about politics or beat me at trivia and such just for a good laugh. We are a close family.

I bought scrabble  around Christmas because I thought it was something I would excel at seeing how I am the only one with a BA in English and a flare for the literary arts. The first time we played I was ashamed at my inability to spell the words correctly. What kind of an education did I have?

Sunday, Z and I sat down with Rich, a guy from up the street to play. My mother even joined which I can say has happened, oh 4 times in my 22 years. We played four games. My brother won three, and I… I won one purely because I got lucky with the word TRAILERS and got the 50 point bonus for using seven tiles.

Yes, my 18 year old high school dropout brother is smarter than me.

Amen.

~ by kirbyann on February 11, 2008.

Leave a comment